Scientific Advisory Board

Ulrich Hintermair, Chair

Uli Hintermair is Whorrod Research Fellow at the Centre for Sustainable Chemical Technologies at the University of Bath in Bath, UK. His research group focuses on applied catalysis with metal complexes to develop sustainable processes.

Gary W. Brudvig

Gary Brudvig is department chair and Silliman Professor of Chemistry at Yale University's Department of Chemistry, in New Haven, CT. The Brudvig Lab works to understand the chemistry of water oxidation in natural and artificial photosynthesis.

Aaron Bloomfield
Aaron Bloomfield is a synthetic organic chemist with experience in ligand design and electrochemistry. He is an alumnus of Catalytic Innovations and is currently an assistant professor of chemistry at Duquesne University in Pittsburgh, PA.

CI is a partner of the ANSER Collaboration and collaborating member of the Solar Fuels Institute.



Stafford W. Sheehan

Staff Sheehan is an electrochemist and president of Catalytic Innovations. He received his PhD at Yale University and was named one of Forbes 30 under 30 in the energy sector in 2016.

Chi Chen

Chi is a synthetic chemist specializing in homogeneous and molecular catalysis. Chi earned his PhD in the Holland Lab at Yale University and is currently the Chief Scientist of Catalytic Innovations.

Paul Anastas

Paul Anastas is the Director of Yale University's Center for Green Chemistry and Green Engineering, and the Teresa and H. John Heinz III Professor in the Practice of Chemistry for the Environment..